680 W Main St (map it)
HOPE Ministry Center
PO Box 743
Wytheville, VA 24382

Toll Free: (877) 818-8680
Phone: (276) 228-6280
Fax: (276) 228-0508
Email: hope@wythehope.org
Donate Now!  
HOPE Packs
 Building community sustainability and independence Support HOPE by shopping AmazonSmile

Home About Programs Resources Collaborations HOPE Ministry Center  The Fast and the Fiorini Donate Contact


Helping Overcome Poverty's Existence, Inc. (HOPE) was incorporated in 1993 with a primary mission of fulfilling the challenge of its name
―to reduce the conditions contributing to poverty in southwest Virginia. Mountain Shelter, Inc. (MSI) was incorporated in 1992 with a primary mission of enabling lower income and disadvantaged families to achieve solutions for sustaining affordable housing. In July 2007, HOPE and MSI merged into one entity and maintained the name HOPE. A vision to bring about new and creative delivery of services was adopted resulting in a bigger impact on clients and local communities.

HOPE is a human services organization providing tools to build community sustainability and independence.

Click IRS tax-exempt certification (pdf)
Click corporate good standing certificate (pdf)
Click IRS Form 990 tax return for fiscal year ending June 30, 2019 (pdf)
Click audited financial statements for fiscal year ending June 30, 2019 (pdf)

Service Area
HOPE serves the counties of Wythe, Bland, Carroll, Grayson and Smyth and the city of Galax in southwest Virginia.

Board of Directors
HOPE is governed by a volunteer Board of Directors that provides invaluable oversight, guidance and fiduciary responsibility. In addition to community representatives, HOPE is proud to involve program recipients on the Board of Directors to assist in its planning work. As a certified Virginia Community Housing Development Organization (CHDO), one-third of the Board of Directors represents a low income community.

2020-2021 Officers
Jody Fiorini, Chair
Harvey Atkinson, Vice-Chair
Jean Farley, Secretary
Misty Pack, Treasurer

Regina Alley
Carolyn Dankowski
Chris DiYorio
Shane Hiatt
Cindy Jarmul
Angeline Saferight Lloyd
Jeffrey Kyle
Kristin Shumate
Cindy Stuart
Shelley Woods

Andy Kegley, Executive Director
Jodie Huff, Deputy Director
Mike Pugh, Food Operations Lead
David Clark, Development Associate
Nichole Redman, Administrative/Bookkeeping Assistant
Courtney Melton, Receptionist
Beth Horton, Lead Crisis Housing Counselor
Cris Shinault, Crisis Housing Counselor
Kara Stewart, Crising Housing Counselor
Gary Slemp, Housing Solutions Coordinator
Gail Hudler, Pre-Purchase Housing Counselor
Jordan Atwood, Housing Counselor/Property Management
Jennifer Crockett, Manager-Open Door Cafè
Rita Kelley, Assistant Manager-Open Door Cafè

Printable documents (pdf) on HOPE's website require the free software download Adobe Acrobat Reader.
Serving the counties of Wythe, Bland, Carroll, Grayson and Smyth and the city of Galax

United Way of Wythe County
Send email to hope@wythehope.org with questions or comments about this website.
Copyright © Helping Overcome Poverty's Existence, Inc.
Not affiliated with any entity utilizing the unincorporated name.
Last modified: